PO 130 Fault Code

Post Reply
User avatar
JAZ
Cadet
Posts: 907
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 3:17 pm
Car Make: VOLKSWAGEN
Car Model: MK3 GTI
Location: DBN

PO 130 Fault Code

Post by JAZ » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:14 am

Hi Guys as per my previous post, finally got someone to scan the vehicle :

Oxygen (Lambda) Sensor B1 S1
PO 130 - Malfunction in Circuit - Intermittent

This is from a 2015 polo vivo 1.4. (doing 90 000km at the moment)

Car was sluggish, became heavy on fuel, and was over fueling, black smoke bellowing out the exhaust before the engine reaches temperature.

Just wanted some insight please, we cleared the error code via VCDS , after that on the way home car drove perfectly , all the symptoms disappered, drove to work this morning and its running perfectly like how it was before it started giving issues, i'm pretty confused with this turnout.

Just want to know before i go out and purchase another sensor at R3400 from VW, could it be the wiring of the sensor, plug.....or the likes???

Or is it the actual sensor only.

Trust someone can shed some light on this frustration.

Thanks Guys :hi:
User avatar
panic-mechanic
Panic's Place
Posts: 25123
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 9:08 am
Membership No: 79
Location: Benoni, putfontein.

Re: PO 130 Fault Code

Post by panic-mechanic » Fri Jul 13, 2018 11:08 am

Pretty much the sensor. If it was wiring the fault would come back immediately after you tried to clear it.
Why would you buy it at VW?.
Stephan van Tonder - Jhb - Putfontein Benoni
'07 Audi S6 V10 - beast !!!!!
'05 Audi A6 3.0L TDI Avant
'09 Audi Q5 3l tdi
'95 Audi 90 coupe quattro
'13 VW CC 2l tdi (repair project)
'05 Touareg v10

Perfect Power dealer. I do dyno tuning.
User avatar
JAZ
Cadet
Posts: 907
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 3:17 pm
Car Make: VOLKSWAGEN
Car Model: MK3 GTI
Location: DBN

Re: PO 130 Fault Code

Post by JAZ » Mon Jul 16, 2018 7:29 am

Hi Panic,

Thought as much, to date though the car is running perfectly again, the fault was cleared haven't changed the sensor, consumption is back to standard.

I was told that only the original sensor will work, if i purchase from Goldwagen the problem shall persist, Diesel Electric here in Durban has no stock, they haven't had in a long while, they had told me that VW has been taking all the stock from the supplier.

If the problem does come back, where would you advise me to purchase a new one from Panic?
User avatar
panic-mechanic
Panic's Place
Posts: 25123
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 9:08 am
Membership No: 79
Location: Benoni, putfontein.

Re: PO 130 Fault Code

Post by panic-mechanic » Mon Jul 16, 2018 8:08 am

It's a bosch sensor. So the correct bosch sensor from whomever supplies it will work right.
Stephan van Tonder - Jhb - Putfontein Benoni
'07 Audi S6 V10 - beast !!!!!
'05 Audi A6 3.0L TDI Avant
'09 Audi Q5 3l tdi
'95 Audi 90 coupe quattro
'13 VW CC 2l tdi (repair project)
'05 Touareg v10

Perfect Power dealer. I do dyno tuning.
User avatar
JAZ
Cadet
Posts: 907
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 3:17 pm
Car Make: VOLKSWAGEN
Car Model: MK3 GTI
Location: DBN

Re: PO 130 Fault Code

Post by JAZ » Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:40 pm

Thank you Panic
Post Reply