Barometric Pressure / Engine Speed Sensors

Gareth.Hooper
Cadet
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 7:41 am
Membership No: 1624
Contact:

Barometric Pressure / Engine Speed Sensors

Postby Gareth.Hooper » Thu Apr 05, 2012 8:38 am

Hi All.


Does anyone know what these two sensors will set me back give or take:

======================================
3 Faults Found
00561 - Mixture Adaptation
14-00 - Adaptation Limit (Add) Exceeded
00528 - Barometric Pressure (Altitude) Sensor (F96)
06-00 - Signal too High
16706 - Engine Speed Sensor (G28): No Signal
P0322 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent
Readiness: N/A
======================================

I am suspecting the mixture adaption is an affect from the Barometric Sensor.


--
Gareth

User avatar
panic-mechanic
Panic's Place
Posts: 23916
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 9:08 am
Membership No: 79
Location: Benoni, putfontein.
Contact:

Re: Barometric Pressure / Engine Speed Sensors

Postby panic-mechanic » Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:06 am

Will help if we know what car. Is the car running at all. If yes you can ignore the g28 crank sensor one.
Stephan van Tonder - Jhb - Putfontein Benoni
'07 Audi S6 V10 - beast !!!!!
'05 Audi A6 3.0L TDI Avant
'07 Audi A4 2l TDI
'95 Audi 90 coupe quattro
'13 VW CC 2l tdi (repair project)
'05 Touareg v10

Perfect Power dealer. I do dyno tuning.

Gareth.Hooper
Cadet
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 7:41 am
Membership No: 1624
Contact:

Re: Barometric Pressure / Engine Speed Sensors

Postby Gareth.Hooper » Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:16 am

Apologies.

2002 Golf 4 GTi 110
190 000km

Runs
However, randomly it wont start, turns but does not start.
My scenario is similiar to a vwvortex poster that had the same concern with the engine sensor resolving the concern. Just querying locally first to ascertain validity.

Example, this morning it started first time when leaving home. Drove 2km and stopped and fuel station (shop) -10 minutes max, when leaving there the car would not start, igntion does its thing but engine does not actually start.

Another Example, Left office for Orange grove, all good, spent 3 hours that side, when leaving the same thing.

Car can be roll started.

--
Gareth

User avatar
panic-mechanic
Panic's Place
Posts: 23916
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 9:08 am
Membership No: 79
Location: Benoni, putfontein.
Contact:

Re: Barometric Pressure / Engine Speed Sensors

Postby panic-mechanic » Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:25 am

Well then it's possible that you have an issue with the pickup. It could also be the cam pickup that messes around. The main thing you have to do is some invstigating. Next it won't start have a look in vagcom and see if you can see the engine rpm in the measuring blocks. Should crank at around 220 rpm. If it shows 0 then you know the pickup is not working.
Stephan van Tonder - Jhb - Putfontein Benoni
'07 Audi S6 V10 - beast !!!!!
'05 Audi A6 3.0L TDI Avant
'07 Audi A4 2l TDI
'95 Audi 90 coupe quattro
'13 VW CC 2l tdi (repair project)
'05 Touareg v10

Perfect Power dealer. I do dyno tuning.

User avatar
BatteryWorldPtaEast
Lieutenant
Posts: 1039
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 7:18 am
Car Make: VW
Car Model: Polo TDI Sportline
Membership No: 1572
Location: Gauteng
Contact:

Re: Barometric Pressure / Engine Speed Sensors

Postby BatteryWorldPtaEast » Thu Apr 05, 2012 11:49 am

As far as I know this is in the ECU ,but I can be wrong.

Barometric Pressure (Altitude) Sensor (F96)
Daily drive : Polo TDI Sportline 180 Hp 349 Nm ATW (Trevor's Custom Map) At Night Dyno
Wife's : 1.9 Tdi Touran
Son's : Cross Polo 1.6 Tdi
www.servicespst.com - maintenance / service plan incl tyres

crashtestdummy
Cadet
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Barometric Pressure / Engine Speed Sensors

Postby crashtestdummy » Thu Apr 05, 2012 12:54 pm

Barometric Pressure (Altitude) Sensor (F96
This sensor is located behind the left grill of the front bumper

User avatar
porno_ster
Enlisted
Posts: 4024
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 12:26 pm
Membership No: missing
Location: 7de Laan
Contact:

Re: Barometric Pressure / Engine Speed Sensors

Postby porno_ster » Thu Apr 05, 2012 1:00 pm

crashtestdummy wrote:Barometric Pressure (Altitude) Sensor (F96
This sensor is located behind the left grill of the front bumper


You sure? My AGU's sat on the firewall, just behind the turbo intake pipe...

http://www.golfgtiforum.co.uk/index.php?topic=176545.0

Image
His: '14 Amarok 2.0TSi, '05 WRX STi, '98 356 Speedster Rep, '76 Dodge D100 383, '79 Golf LS, '74 Datsun ute
Hers: '10 Mitsubishi Outlander

crashtestdummy
Cadet
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Barometric Pressure / Engine Speed Sensors

Postby crashtestdummy » Thu Apr 05, 2012 1:29 pm

porno_ster wrote:
crashtestdummy wrote:Barometric Pressure (Altitude) Sensor (F96
This sensor is located behind the left grill of the front bumper


You sure? My AGU's sat on the firewall, just behind the turbo intake pipe...

http://www.golfgtiforum.co.uk/index.php?topic=176545.0

Image


You are right, i got confused bet this and the external temp sensor.. :oops:

User avatar
Golf Fanatic
Lieutenant
Posts: 1012
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 9:10 am
Location: Johannesberg South
Contact:

Re: Barometric Pressure / Engine Speed Sensors

Postby Golf Fanatic » Sat Apr 07, 2012 7:44 pm

I had an error for the barometric pressure sensor, the car had no issue drove normal. Replaced the sensor did not make any difference. Was told that the sensor detects how thick the air is (altitude)and relates the info to the computer box

Hope this helps : :hug:
A3 1.8T Sportech Yellow
Mazda 3
MK1 1800 8v Sidies (Sold My Heart Aches)
MK3 GTI Black (Sold..)
K1 GPR Prokart
Suzuki GSX R 400
Suzuki GSX R 750 (Motor Blown)
Speed
Lunatic
Under
Throttle

User avatar
g60 golf
Moderator
Posts: 3988
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 6:51 pm
Membership No: 388
Location: jhb
Contact:

Re: Barometric Pressure / Engine Speed Sensors

Postby g60 golf » Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:11 am

G28 can cause start issue on some so can the alltitude sensor as that determins how much fuel is needed for the alltitude you at.
It sits on the fire wall behind airbox and then latter units in the engine ecu.
Check the wires for the unit and swop the unit out first same for the g28 if you can.
G60 16V GOLF

WHAT WE LEAVE BEHIND IS NOT AS IMPORTANT AS HOW WE LIVED.

IT IS NOT UNSAFE IT IS OLD SCHOOL!!!!!!!!!

ALDO IS THE MAN WITH A GUN.
THATS HOW WE ROLL [SAINT-J]
GTS KNOWS HOW TO MAKE A STICKER.

Return to “General Tech Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 56 guests