Installing amp in Ibiza Cupra

This forum is designated for In Car Entertainment discussion...
Forum rules
Please take a look at the rules for posting in the Technical section as all posts will be moderated accordingly...

Technical Section Rules
User avatar
amstel18
Lieutenant-Colonel
Posts: 4345
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 9:54 am
Car Make: VW
Car Model: Polo TSI
Membership No: missing
Location: Brackenfell, Cape Town
Contact:

Installing amp in Ibiza Cupra

Postby amstel18 » Sun Oct 17, 2010 11:09 am

A Buddy of mine Drives a 07 Ibiza Cupra TDi.
So yesterday me and him wanted to fit a amp, sub and new speakers.
So I installed the power and rca cables. but the problem is I couldn't get a remote wire on the HU.
The wiring diagram I found on the internet says its pin 11 which is a solid yellow wire. It only gives 3volts. Which wire should I use for remote?

Also the Dumba$$ connect the electri mirror pug to the power window console by accident. Dont know if that caused the problem but now the passenger side window does not work!
The way i connected the RCA's was with a high level converter which I cut the front speaker wires from the HU for the inputs to the converter and then just connect the wires from the output of the amp to the wires behind the HU going to the doors.

Did I do something wrong with the high to low converter? He called me this morning to say that some of the interior lights are freaking out and that the indicators don't flash when you lock the car.

I need help please. We ended up just putting back all the panels and so now only the rear speakers work as the front and sub was going to run off the amp.
Current:
2013 Audi A3 Sportback 1.8 TFSI S-Tronic
Ex:
2015 Pure White 1.2tsi Comfortline
2011 2L BiTdi ROK D/C Highline
2006 Seat Ibiza Cupra TDI
91 Caddy, ADY motor on mp9, wildcat 4-1 branch and 50mm Evolution s/s exhaust
96 1600 Chico (sold)

User avatar
PöLö1.4...
Cadet
Posts: 250
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 7:57 am
Car Make: VW
Car Model: Polo Playa
Membership No: missing
Location: Bryanston
Contact:

Re: Installing amp in Ibiza Cupra

Postby PöLö1.4... » Mon Oct 18, 2010 11:35 am

The remote wire should be the blue wire, it is generally just the blue one, you could run the remote to the power wire on the harness, I think with regards to the lights etc, start by checking the fuses, to ensure nothing was popped in the process of installing the sound.

User avatar
amstel18
Lieutenant-Colonel
Posts: 4345
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 9:54 am
Car Make: VW
Car Model: Polo TSI
Membership No: missing
Location: Brackenfell, Cape Town
Contact:

Re: Installing amp in Ibiza Cupra

Postby amstel18 » Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:48 pm

Will have a look later when I have time to find a remote wire.
For some or other reason the Cupra has a safety mech built in. Whereby the computer stops the normal programmed workings of the stuff. So by us putting in the Elec mirror plug in the elec windows assembly it cut out the working of it so that no damage can be done.
And after a day or so if there is no problem the car clears the code itself. so all is working again as it should except that there no remote to the amp.
And yes I know That most AFTERMARKET HU's us a blue or blue with a white trace as the remote wire. But I could not get a 12v on any of the wires. Will probly just use the ignition wire or get a better HU.
Current:
2013 Audi A3 Sportback 1.8 TFSI S-Tronic
Ex:
2015 Pure White 1.2tsi Comfortline
2011 2L BiTdi ROK D/C Highline
2006 Seat Ibiza Cupra TDI
91 Caddy, ADY motor on mp9, wildcat 4-1 branch and 50mm Evolution s/s exhaust
96 1600 Chico (sold)

User avatar
MUKS
Cadet
Posts: 699
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:12 am
Car Make: VW
Car Model: Golf 7 TSI
Membership No: 1318
Location: Smoking up JHB one day at a time
Contact:

Re: Installing amp in Ibiza Cupra

Postby MUKS » Mon Oct 18, 2010 2:52 pm

@ amstel18

I had the same problem buddy best thing put a aftermarket HU
Link To My Thread http://www.vwclub.co.za/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=60402
Golf 7 TSI
Seat Cupra 1.9 TDI REVO stage 2 done , De-Cat , Joms fitted
Golf 4 1.8 20v Comfortline SOLD It's a question of style
Jetta 2 CLI 16V - RIP Never have enough time to play round
Fox 2l 8v mp9 - SOLD My joy and happy days

Vw all the way
Image THE SEVENTH DAY GOD MADE THE CUPRA !!! Image

User avatar
amstel18
Lieutenant-Colonel
Posts: 4345
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 9:54 am
Car Make: VW
Car Model: Polo TSI
Membership No: missing
Location: Brackenfell, Cape Town
Contact:

Re: Installing amp in Ibiza Cupra

Postby amstel18 » Mon Oct 18, 2010 3:05 pm

MUKS wrote:@ amstel18

I had the same problem buddy best thing put a aftermarket HU

Did you manage to find a remote on the standard deck?
My buddy hasn't got money for a decent deck at the moment so we trying to sort something outas he had a set of splits, amo and a sub that came out his old car.
He spent his budget on the go fast stuff like zorst, DP and software. his car makes nice power but needs some tunes when not in the mood for speed
Current:
2013 Audi A3 Sportback 1.8 TFSI S-Tronic
Ex:
2015 Pure White 1.2tsi Comfortline
2011 2L BiTdi ROK D/C Highline
2006 Seat Ibiza Cupra TDI
91 Caddy, ADY motor on mp9, wildcat 4-1 branch and 50mm Evolution s/s exhaust
96 1600 Chico (sold)

User avatar
MUKS
Cadet
Posts: 699
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 8:12 am
Car Make: VW
Car Model: Golf 7 TSI
Membership No: 1318
Location: Smoking up JHB one day at a time
Contact:

Re: Installing amp in Ibiza Cupra

Postby MUKS » Mon Oct 18, 2010 3:16 pm

Nope i never find it but what you can do is put a switch for not if you want ?
what software does he have PM me :hi:
Link To My Thread http://www.vwclub.co.za/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=60402
Golf 7 TSI
Seat Cupra 1.9 TDI REVO stage 2 done , De-Cat , Joms fitted
Golf 4 1.8 20v Comfortline SOLD It's a question of style
Jetta 2 CLI 16V - RIP Never have enough time to play round
Fox 2l 8v mp9 - SOLD My joy and happy days

Vw all the way
Image THE SEVENTH DAY GOD MADE THE CUPRA !!! Image

Return to “Technical: I.C.E. Related Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: crispenmlambo and 9 guests