Accelerator pump

Khiba
Cadet
Registered for: 7 years 4 months
Car Make: VW
Car Model: 2013 Polo Vivo 1.4 CLP

Accelerator pump

Post by Khiba »

Hi. Can the car run without one? Each time you press accelerator it sprays fuel in the car carb. Disconnect it to save some fuel?
Current : 1995 Citi Golf 1.6 carb
Belix
Lieutenant-Colonel
Registered for: 13 years 11 months
Car Model: Passat B8
Membership No: missing

Re: Accelerator pump

Post by Belix »

What do you mean by accelerator pump?
I'm no mechanic, but from what little I know, the accelerator on a carb car controls a valve which allows more or less air into the carb. More accelerator, valve more open, more air. More air sucks in more fuel.
Pressing accelerator also rotates the distributor slightly advancing the timing a tiny amount. The two together speed up the engine.

Without speeding up the engine, how would you drive around?
n.gov3
Cadet
Registered for: 6 years 11 months

Post by n.gov3 »

Khiba wrote: Sat Feb 09, 2019 2:23 pm Hi. Can the car run without one? Each time you press accelerator it sprays fuel in the car carb. Disconnect it to save some fuel?
Leave it as is. The accelerator pump as such, assists with initial starts by squirting fuel into the carb. Without this, it will be very annoying to start the car.

Also assists in conditions where you need to pick up speed rapidly eg overtaking on the highway. If disconnected, your car will bog down or be more laboured in these conditions
n.gov3
Cadet
Registered for: 6 years 11 months

Post by n.gov3 »

@ Belix, he's referring to an actual pump in the carb that's referred to as an accelerator pump..... it just supplies a squirt of fuel into the primary chamber when the accerator pedal is pressed
Belix
Lieutenant-Colonel
Registered for: 13 years 11 months
Car Model: Passat B8
Membership No: missing

Post by Belix »