Getting a 4bar map sensor to work on stock turbo 96kw engine with no software done

Post Reply
Taahir03
Enlisted
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 06, 2018 11:16 am
Car Make: Vw
Car Model: 1.9tdi

Getting a 4bar map sensor to work on stock turbo 96kw engine with no software done

Post by Taahir03 » Sun May 06, 2018 11:26 am

Hi guys I have a Polo 1.9tdi I bought a 4bar map sensor but need some help getting it to work on a stock turbo Asz engine.I have VCD’S 17.1 how can I adapt the map sensor to work.No software has been done yet.Thanks in advance
User avatar
Ashveer03
Cadet
Posts: 984
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 9:00 pm
Car Make: VW
Car Model: Polo 9n 1.9 TDI Sportline
Location: Durban

Re: Getting a 4bar map sensor to work on stock turbo 96kw engine with no software done

Post by Ashveer03 » Sun May 06, 2018 11:40 am

Its not possible with vcds. I believe boost maps or something need to be altered on the software.

A tuner will have better info for u, speak to CaddyOn on this forum

Sent from my SM-J500F using Tapatalk

When a car tailgates me, i slow down - then floor it and give them a cloud of diesel smoke to choke on :driving:
User avatar
panic-mechanic
Panic's Place
Posts: 25035
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 9:08 am
Membership No: 79
Location: Benoni, putfontein.

Re: Getting a 4bar map sensor to work on stock turbo 96kw engine with no software done

Post by panic-mechanic » Sun May 06, 2018 8:04 pm

but why?
Stephan van Tonder - Jhb - Putfontein Benoni
'07 Audi S6 V10 - beast !!!!!
'05 Audi A6 3.0L TDI Avant
'09 Audi Q5 3l tdi
'95 Audi 90 coupe quattro
'13 VW CC 2l tdi (repair project)
'05 Touareg v10

Perfect Power dealer. I do dyno tuning.
User avatar
MarshallGTi
Moderator
Posts: 7349
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 8:43 am
Car Make: Seat
Car Model: Ibiza 1.9TDi FR
Membership No: 1665
Location: Alberton

Re: Getting a 4bar map sensor to work on stock turbo 96kw engine with no software done

Post by MarshallGTi » Mon May 07, 2018 10:12 am

panic-mechanic wrote:
Sun May 06, 2018 8:04 pm
but why?
future plans for boostage perhaps?
It is an ingenius solution to a problem that should have never existed in the 1st place...

Ibiza FR

Image
Ex's:
ShoeBox
(o\!/o)
My mk2 16v
EX-DOHCTOR wrote: I'd make sure I understand the differences between fish and engine components before attempting any modifications on my motor vehicle as a start. :lol:
Psycho1400 wrote:It wasn't an oil leak, it was a horsepower sweat...
User avatar
panic-mechanic
Panic's Place
Posts: 25035
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 9:08 am
Membership No: 79
Location: Benoni, putfontein.

Re: Getting a 4bar map sensor to work on stock turbo 96kw engine with no software done

Post by panic-mechanic » Mon May 07, 2018 7:28 pm

3 bar boost. On an otherwise stock engine. Good luck with that for longevity
Stephan van Tonder - Jhb - Putfontein Benoni
'07 Audi S6 V10 - beast !!!!!
'05 Audi A6 3.0L TDI Avant
'09 Audi Q5 3l tdi
'95 Audi 90 coupe quattro
'13 VW CC 2l tdi (repair project)
'05 Touareg v10

Perfect Power dealer. I do dyno tuning.
boost'd
Criminal Troll.
Posts: 2446
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:04 am
Membership No: missing

Re: Getting a 4bar map sensor to work on stock turbo 96kw engine with no software done

Post by boost'd » Mon May 07, 2018 9:55 pm

panic-mechanic wrote:but why?
Used to control boost better on big turbo diesels.
The original sensor can only see 2 bar actual pressure so when boosting higher than 2 bar, the ecu cant actually see the boost or control it properly.
Fitting and calibrating a 4 bar sensor will allow the ecu to see the higher boost levels (even though you can still only read to 2 bar on vcds)

Back to the original post, only a tuner will be able to calibrate the sensor via altering the map. You can't do it with vcds.
If you aren't running a bigger turbo don't waste your time
EIGHTYSIXAUTOMOTIVE/ACD PERFORMANCE/RK MOTION
User avatar
panic-mechanic
Panic's Place
Posts: 25035
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 9:08 am
Membership No: 79
Location: Benoni, putfontein.

Re: Getting a 4bar map sensor to work on stock turbo 96kw engine with no software done

Post by panic-mechanic » Tue May 08, 2018 6:05 am

I know how it works. I am asking why on a stock engine and turbo would you want to see more than 2 bar boost?
Stephan van Tonder - Jhb - Putfontein Benoni
'07 Audi S6 V10 - beast !!!!!
'05 Audi A6 3.0L TDI Avant
'09 Audi Q5 3l tdi
'95 Audi 90 coupe quattro
'13 VW CC 2l tdi (repair project)
'05 Touareg v10

Perfect Power dealer. I do dyno tuning.
User avatar
Deranged_9n3
Darth Vader
Posts: 5513
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:48 am
Car Make: VW
Car Model: Polo 1.9TDI Sportline
Membership No: 1639
Location: Montana Park
Contact:

Re: Getting a 4bar map sensor to work on stock turbo 96kw engine with no software done

Post by Deranged_9n3 » Tue May 08, 2018 6:27 am

panic-mechanic wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 6:05 am
I know how it works. I am asking why on a stock engine and turbo would you want to see more than 2 bar boost?
Nitrous. How else would people run 13.1 on a “stock turbo nitrous only” tdi. Must boost that thing HARD :violin:
Tiguan Track & Field 4Motion

19” OZ Superturismo l Airlift Performance l 63mm Downpipe and DPF Delete l PD-Tuning Stage 2

Polo 9n3 TDi

GTB2260VZK l 76mm Stainless DP and FF l FMIC + Stainless Boost Pipes l Nitrous l PD-Tuning Stage 3 l Projector Headlights l 17” Cross Polo wheels l Tuning Art Coilovers l G5 GTi Steering Wheel

GTB2260VZK
13.2 1/4mile @ ODI

Image
Loud 'n Low, Rollin' Coal
boost'd
Criminal Troll.
Posts: 2446
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:04 am
Membership No: missing

Re: Getting a 4bar map sensor to work on stock turbo 96kw engine with no software done

Post by boost'd » Tue May 08, 2018 6:35 am

panic-mechanic wrote:I know how it works. I am asking why on a stock engine and turbo would you want to see more than 2 bar boost?
boost'd wrote:
panic-mechanic wrote:but why?
If you aren't running a bigger turbo don't waste your time
EIGHTYSIXAUTOMOTIVE/ACD PERFORMANCE/RK MOTION
Post Reply