Sheered bolt on cams

ushir
Enlisted
Registered for: 15 years 6 months

Sheered bolt on cams

Post by ushir »

Hey guys,

I have a Golf 5 TDI and have been tinkering around trying to learn about cars etc. So I read a guide on adjusting the cars timing by adjusting the camshaft adjustment screws - i managed to succesfuly get the timing to where I needed it - but unfortunately I sheered off one of the 3 bolts despite using a torque wrench with the correct torque.

To remove the sheered bolt would require removing the timing belt and cam plate - something I feel I am not experienced enough to do. The car is still under warranty so I am hesitant to ask the dealers to fix it - who can I ask to repair this in Durban? I could always take it to VW during my service and hope they detect it - but I would rather avoid any warranty issues and get it repaired outside of VW.

Any suggestions? Or does anyone know how I could repair this on my own? I am quite a novice at working on cars and this was the first time i ever tried doing anything on my own.
dood786
Post Whore
Registered for: 17 years 1 month
Car Model: boat
Membership No: 1133

Re: Sheered bolt on cams

Post by dood786 »

Repairing it away from vw will void your warranty anyways
Noob
Tdi jetta 4 ever
Lieutenant-Colonel
Registered for: 13 years 5 months
Car Make: VW
Car Model: Jetta 4 1.9 Tdi, Isuzu2.5DKBLe
Membership No: missing

Post by Tdi jetta 4 ever »

ushir wrote:Hey guys,

I have a Golf 5 TDI and have been tinkering around trying to learn about cars etc. So I read a guide on adjusting the cars timing by adjusting the camshaft adjustment screws - i managed to succesfuly get the timing to where I needed it - but unfortunately I sheered off one of the 3 bolts despite using a torque wrench with the correct torque.