Golf 7 GTI hard starting issue with fault P21F9

This forum is designated for Detailing discussion...
Forum rules
Please take a look at the rules for posting in the Technical section as all posts will be moderated accordingly...

Technical Section Rules
dtauwel
Enlisted
Registered for: 3 years

Golf 7 GTI hard starting issue with fault P21F9

Post by dtauwel »

Hi guys.Firstly, I used to be a technician with VW but opened my own independent workshop specializing in Audi & VW vehicles only. So this Mk7 GTI popped a Big End bearing in September 2020. The vehicle was with the dealership that recommended an engine (Head, block & sump only) replacement at a cost of around R135000 So i had the vehicle collected from the dealership by a towing company. So there is the 1st hick-up, I never drove the vehicle before repairs were done. I use mainly ODIS software for diagnostics but also VCDS. On the diagnostic logs done before we removed the engine, various faults including this P21F9 was already logged. We did not make much of it as we had already identified the mechanical fault and thus did the repair accordingly for around R70000. So about a week after he collected the vehicles my troubles started. Blaming the hard starting problem on us and claiming it was not doing it before. Long story short, the fault only occurred when he had the vehicle, but with us it never happened, eventually managed to re-produce the fault only after leaving the vehicle at idle for a prolonged period and the wanting to restart the engine thereafter. There is a Turbo Replacement recommendation from VW AG as per TPI 2037633/4 released n 24/09/2015. So if any one has viable proof to contradict the TPI, please share before I remove the Turbo for no reason. Thanks

Sent from my S62 Pro using Tapatalk

THANAS
Forum Advertiser
Registered for: 10 years 8 months
Car Make: VW
Car Model: AW Polo GTi
Membership No: 2035

Re: Golf 7 GTI hard starting issue with fault P21F9

Post by THANAS »